Explainer

OpenAI valuation history: every reported round from 2019 to the $1.25 trillion talks

OpenAI's valuation history, from Microsoft's $1 billion in 2019 to the $1.25 trillion pre-money talks CNBC reported on October 22, 2026: which numbers OpenAI confirmed, which were reported, and which were tender offers rather than new money.

Three glass bars for OpenAI's $157 billion, $300 billion and $852 billion valuations and a lit dashed bar for reported $1.25 trillion talks, on orange

In 20 seconds

  1. OpenAI has itself announced three valuations: $157 billion post-money on October 2, 2024, $300 billion post-money on March 31, 2025, and $852 billion post-money for its $122 billion round on March 31, 2026. Every other figure, including $14 billion (2021), $86 billion (2024) and $500 billion (2025), is reported, and most came from employee share sales.
  2. On October 22, 2026, CNBC reported that OpenAI is close to raising up to $30 billion at a $1.25 trillion pre-money valuation, led by UAE investors alongside Coatue. That is below the $1.4 trillion Bloomberg reported on September 29. OpenAI declined to comment to TechCrunch.
  3. OpenAI confirmed in June 2026 that it had confidentially submitted a draft S-1, but it hasn't set an IPO date. Anthropic's last announced round was $65 billion at $965 billion post-money on May 28, 2026.
On this page

OpenAI's valuation history runs from an undisclosed figure in 2019, when Microsoft invested $1 billion, to reported talks at $1.25 trillion on October 22, 2026. Along the way, OpenAI has announced only three valuations itself. Most of the other well-known numbers came from employee share sales reported by the press, not from new money going into the company. This explainer lists each round, says who reported it and whether OpenAI confirmed it, and explains why tender offers and primary rounds shouldn't be read the same way. For how the company is structured and makes money, see our OpenAI explainer.

This story is based on OpenAI's and Microsoft's announcements, OpenAI's statement about its confidential IPO filing, and reporting by CNBC, Bloomberg, Reuters, TechCrunch, the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times as relayed by the outlets named below, checked October 25, 2026.

The short version

  • Confirmed by OpenAI: $157 billion post-money (October 2, 2024), $300 billion post-money (March 31, 2025) and $852 billion post-money (March 31, 2026).
  • Reported, from share sales: about $14 billion (2021 tender), $27 billion to $29 billion (April 2023), $86 billion (February 2024), $500 billion (October 2025) and $852 billion again (August 2026).
  • Reported talks: more than $1.2 trillion (September 16, 2026), $1.4 trillion pre-money (September 29) and $1.25 trillion pre-money (October 22).
  • What changed on October 22: CNBC put the price about $150 billion below Bloomberg's September figure and named UAE investors and Coatue as leads. OpenAI declined to comment to TechCrunch, and as of October 25 it hadn't announced that the round had closed.
  • IPO: OpenAI said in June 2026 that it had confidentially submitted a draft S-1. It hasn't set a date.

How has OpenAI's valuation changed over time?

It has risen roughly sixtyfold in five years, if you start from the 2021 tender offer. The chart plots each valuation that OpenAI announced or that a named outlet reported for a completed deal, plus the two most recent sets of talks.

OpenAI's valuation by deal, 2021 to October 2026

US dollars, billions; post-money where OpenAI announced it, otherwise as reported

Show the data
DealValuation
2021 tender14
Apr 2023 tender29
Feb 2024 tender86
Oct 2024 round157
Mar 2025 round300
Oct 2025 share sale500
Mar 2026 round852
Aug 2026 tender852
Sep 29, 2026 talks1400
Oct 22, 2026 talks1250
Figure 1Only the October 2024, March 2025 and March 2026 points are OpenAI's own figures. The April 2023 point is the top of a reported $27 billion to $29 billion range, and the two 2026 talks figures are pre-money and unconfirmed. Source: OpenAI announcements; Reuters, Bloomberg, CNBC, TechCrunch and the WSJ as relayed by named outlets (see table and CSV), as of October 24, 2026.

In numbers: about $14 billion after a 2021 tender offer; $27 billion to $29 billion in an April 2023 share sale; $86 billion in a February 2024 tender; $157 billion in October 2024; $300 billion in March 2025; $500 billion in an October 2025 share sale; $852 billion in March 2026, repeated in an August 2026 tender; then talks at $1.4 trillion and $1.25 trillion.

The dates, deal types and investors behind each point are below. The valuations are in the chart and the paragraph above, not repeated here.

DateDealTypeMoney involvedInvestors namedStatus and source
July 22, 2019Microsoft investmentPrimary, strategic$1 billionMicrosoftConfirmed: Microsoft; valuation not disclosed
2021Employee tender offerSecondaryNot reportedNot reportedReported: WSJ, per SiliconANGLE (January 5, 2023)
January 23, 2023Microsoft partnership extensionPrimary, strategic"Multi-year, multi-billion"; Bloomberg reported $10 billionMicrosoftConfirmed by OpenAI, amount reported
April 28, 2023Tender offer share saleSecondaryMore than $300 millionSequoia, Andreessen Horowitz, Thrive, K2 GlobalReported: TechCrunch
February 17, 2024Employee tender offerSecondaryNot reportedThrive Capital (lead)Reported: Bloomberg and the NYT
October 2, 2024Funding roundPrimary$6.6 billionNot named by OpenAIConfirmed: OpenAI
March 31, 2025Funding roundPrimary$40 billionSoftBank GroupConfirmed: OpenAI
October 2, 2025Employee share saleSecondaryAbout $6.6 billionThrive, SoftBank, Dragoneer, MGX, T. Rowe PriceReported: Reuters
December 17, 2025Funding talksPrimary (talks)"Tens of billions"None namedReported: The Information, per Bloomberg
March 31, 2026Funding roundPrimary$122 billion committedAmazon, NVIDIA, SoftBank (anchors); Microsoft participatingConfirmed: OpenAI
August 10, 2026Employee tender offerSecondary$7 billionNot reportedReported: CNBC, per Quartz
September 29, 2026Funding talksPrimary (talks)At least $30 billionNone namedReported: Bloomberg
October 22, 2026Funding talksPrimary (talks)Up to $30 billionUAE investors and Coatue (leads)Reported: CNBC

Table 1OpenAI itself confirmed only the 2019 and 2023 Microsoft deals and three priced rounds; every secondary sale and every set of talks rests on press reports. Source: OpenAI, Microsoft and the outlets named in each row; full links in data/B35-openai-valuation-history.csv.

Last verified: October 25, 2026

Which OpenAI valuations are official?

Three. On October 2, 2024, OpenAI said it had "raised $6.6B in new funding at a $157B post-money valuation." On March 31, 2025, it announced "$40 billion at a $300 billion post-money valuation," naming SoftBank Group as its partner. On March 31, 2026, it said it had closed "$122 billion in committed capital" at an $852 billion post-money valuation.

That last round was anchored by Amazon, NVIDIA and SoftBank, with Microsoft participating. SoftBank co-led with a16z, D. E. Shaw Ventures, MGX, TPG and accounts advised by T. Rowe Price. For the first time, OpenAI also took money from individual investors through bank channels, more than $3 billion of it. Forbes and others put that round's pre-money valuation at $730 billion.

Microsoft's two big commitments carry no valuation at all. Microsoft announced "an investment of $1 billion" on July 22, 2019. OpenAI's January 23, 2023 post described a "multi-year, multi-billion dollar investment" without a figure; Bloomberg reported it as $10 billion.

What's the difference between a tender offer and a funding round?

In a primary round, the company sells new shares and keeps the cash. In a tender offer or secondary sale, existing holders, usually employees, sell shares they already own to investors, and the money goes to the sellers rather than to the company. Both set a price per share, so both imply a valuation, but a secondary price isn't the same signal as a primary round that funds the business.

Several of OpenAI's best-known numbers are secondary prices:

  • About $14 billion, 2021. The Wall Street Journal reported in January 2023 that this was the valuation set by OpenAI's 2021 tender offer, according to SiliconANGLE's summary.
  • $27 billion to $29 billion, April 2023. TechCrunch reported that OpenAI closed a share sale of more than $300 million "as part of a tender offer," with Sequoia, Andreessen Horowitz, Thrive and K2 Global among the buyers.
  • $86 billion, February 2024. Bloomberg reported on February 17, 2024, that OpenAI had completed a deal, led by Thrive Capital, letting employees sell shares. It had been delayed by the board's ousting of Sam Altman in November 2023.
  • $500 billion, October 2025. Reuters reported on October 2, 2025, that current and former employees sold about $6.6 billion of shares to Thrive Capital, SoftBank, Dragoneer, MGX and T. Rowe Price.
  • $852 billion, August 2026. CNBC reported on August 10, 2026, that OpenAI had completed a $7 billion employee share sale at the March round's price, according to Quartz's summary.

What is OpenAI's valuation as of October 2026?

Its last confirmed valuation is still $852 billion, set on March 31, 2026. Everything above that is talks.

On October 22, 2026, CNBC reported that OpenAI is "closing in on a funding round" of up to $30 billion at a $1.25 trillion valuation that "does not include new capital raised," which makes it a pre-money figure. Citing people familiar with the deal, CNBC said investors from the UAE are leading the round alongside Coatue, that OpenAI is also negotiating a deal for more computing capacity from the UAE, and that OpenAI told investors it aims to secure signatures by the end of the following week, with the final size still being determined. TechCrunch, reporting the same round, said terms could change; OpenAI declined to comment to TechCrunch. As of October 25, 2026, OpenAI hadn't announced that the round had closed. If the full $30 billion came in at that price, the post-money valuation would be about $1.28 trillion, which is 9to5AI's arithmetic, not a reported figure.

Why is $1.25 trillion lower than the earlier $1.4 trillion report?

The reports don't give a confirmed reason. Here's how the figure moved:

  • September 16, 2026: the WSJ reported early talks at "more than $1.2 trillion," and the NYT's DealBook reported that investors had offered $1.2 trillion while OpenAI sought up to $1.5 trillion, according to Forbes.
  • September 29: Bloomberg reported talks to raise at least $30 billion at about $1.4 trillion, a figure Quartz described as pre-money. Our September story covers that report.
  • October 6: Bloomberg reported that UAE funds including Abu Dhabi's MGX were in talks to anchor the round and had discussed up to $10 billion combined, that BlackRock was in discussions, and that OpenAI was presenting the $1.4 trillion pre-money figure "as a set price," per Business Standard's republication.
  • October 22: CNBC's $1.25 trillion figure.

Proactive Investors, citing Bloomberg and the Financial Times, wrote on October 23 that OpenAI cut its target after "resistance from prospective investors" and that the raise could fall short of $30 billion. 9to5AI couldn't read those original reports, so treat that explanation as unconfirmed.

When is OpenAI's IPO?

There's no date. In a post on X reported on June 8, 2026, OpenAI said: "We recently submitted a confidential S-1." It added that it hadn't decided on timing and "it may be a while." SiliconANGLE reported that CFO Sarah Friar told employees in August that OpenAI "will be a public company in 2027," and Sam Altman has said a 2026 listing would be "ill-advised," as our September story reported. CNBC described the new round as a bridge ahead of a potential IPO.

How does OpenAI's valuation compare with Anthropic's?

On announced numbers, they're close. Anthropic raised $65 billion at a $965 billion post-money valuation on May 28, 2026, above OpenAI's $852 billion from March. Anthropic confidentially submitted its own draft S-1 on June 1, 2026. CNBC reported that Anthropic is seeking $1.5 trillion to $2 trillion for its public debut, according to TechCrunch, while Reuters reported investors discussing about $1.5 trillion, according to Al Jazeera, as our Anthropic IPO story notes. None of those IPO figures is confirmed.

Valuations also rest on revenue figures that aren't measured the same way at the two companies. Our gross vs net explainer covers why their run-rate headlines can't be compared directly.

What's confirmed, reported and uncertain

  • Confirmed: Microsoft's $1 billion (2019) and multi-billion (2023) investments; the $157 billion, $300 billion and $852 billion post-money rounds; the $122 billion and $40 billion amounts; OpenAI's confidential S-1 submission.
  • Reported: every tender-offer valuation ($14 billion, $27 billion to $29 billion, $86 billion, $500 billion, the August 2026 sale at $852 billion); the $10 billion Microsoft figure; the $750 billion talks reported in December 2025; the $1.2 trillion, $1.4 trillion and $1.25 trillion talks; the Coatue and UAE leads.
  • Uncertain: whether the round closes, at what size, and whether the price holds; why the reported price fell; any IPO date.

About this story

Based on the sources linked below. How we report: Editorial standards.

Sources · 21

  1. OpenAI raises $122 billion to accelerate the next phase of AI — OpenAI (March 31, 2026)
  2. New funding to build towards AGI — OpenAI (March 31, 2025)
  3. New funding to scale the benefits of AI — OpenAI (October 2, 2024)
  4. OpenAI and Microsoft extend partnership — OpenAI (January 23, 2023)
  5. OpenAI forms exclusive computing partnership with Microsoft — Microsoft (July 22, 2019)
  6. OpenAI working on new $30B raise at $1.25T valuation ahead of IPO — TechCrunch (October 22, 2026)
Show all 21 sources
  1. OpenAI nears up to $30 billion funding round at $1.25 trillion valuation led by UAE investors — CNBC (October 22, 2026)
  2. OpenAI in talks with UAE funds, BlackRock for $30 billion funding round — Bloomberg via Business Standard (October 6, 2026)
  3. OpenAI reportedly in talks to raise $30B round at $1.4T valuation — TechCrunch (September 29, 2026)
  4. OpenAI is reportedly weighing new funding round at $1.5 trillion valuation — Forbes (September 16, 2026)
  5. OpenAI cuts fundraising valuation target to $1.25 trillion after investor pushback — Proactive via Yahoo Finance (October 23, 2026)
  6. Report: OpenAI closing on $30B 'bridge' funding round — SiliconANGLE (October 22, 2026)
  7. OpenAI completes $7 billion employee stock tender offer — Quartz via Yahoo Finance (August 11, 2026)
  8. OpenAI confirms confidential IPO filing — Decrypt via Yahoo Finance (June 8, 2026)
  9. OpenAI Mulls Funding at $750 Billion Value, Information Says — Bloomberg (December 18, 2025)
  10. OpenAI hits $500 billion valuation after share sale to SoftBank, others — Reuters via BNN Bloomberg (October 2, 2025)
  11. OpenAI Deal Lets Employees Sell Shares at $86 Billion Valuation — Bloomberg via BNN Bloomberg (February 17, 2024)
  12. OpenAI closes $300M share sale at $27B-29B valuation — TechCrunch (April 28, 2023)
  13. Microsoft Invests $10 Billion in ChatGPT Maker OpenAI — Bloomberg (January 23, 2023)
  14. OpenAI, startup behind ChatGPT, discusses tender offer that would value it at $29B — SiliconANGLE (January 5, 2023)
  15. Anthropic raises $65 billion, nears $1T valuation ahead of IPO — TechCrunch (May 28, 2026)
Written byShajanthan YogeswaranFounder & Editor-in-ChiefMore from Shajanthan
Was this useful?

Read next

Comments (0)

More on OpenAI

View all
Agents · NewsThe Week in AI #5: AI-found PHP bugs hit the wild, Anthropic's IPO numbers leak, and Meta's $825 billion in commitmentsAI news for October 19–25, 2026: PHP2Shell and OpenAI's Patch the Planet framework, Anthropic's reported $80.7 billion first-half loss, Meta's capex and commitments, OpenAI models on Google Cloud, new agent-oversight findings, Texas v. OpenAI and DeepSeek's reported $15 billion round.·7 min read
Agents · AnalysisAI-found vulnerabilities and maintainers: Sam Altman says we can't 'just patch all the bugs,' Cloudflare's CEO expects weekly alarms, and the PHP Foundation says it's under-fundedAI-found vulnerabilities are arriving faster than maintainers can fix them. What Sam Altman, Cloudflare's Matthew Prince and the PHP Foundation's Elizabeth Barron said between October 21 and 24, 2026, what the numbers show, and who funds the people who write the patches.·9 min read
Industry · NewsReplit shifts AI spend from Anthropic to OpenAI, as reported: what Replit has said and what's unconfirmedReplit switched AI spending from Anthropic to OpenAI after OpenAI offered more than 30% off a contract worth over $100 million a year, The Information reported on October 24, 2026, according to The Decoder. What Replit's CEO has said on the record, what Replit's docs show, and what remains unconfirmed.·5 min read
Research · BenchmarksGrok picks Republicans, GPT-6.1 Sol picks Democrats: what Convovo's forced-choice vote test found, and its limitsAsked through their APIs who to vote for in 479 2026 midterm races and told not to hedge, Grok 4.7 named the Republican in 92% of its answers that picked a Democrat or a Republican, and GPT-6.1 Sol named the Democrat in 97%, Convovo's published data shows. Who ran the forced-choice test, how, and what it doesn't show.·8 min read
The Week in AI · every Friday

New guides and explainers, every Friday.

The week’s biggest stories in AI and tech, what they mean, and what to read next.

Free. One email a week. Unsubscribe in one click.