IndustryNews

Anthropic government discount: 40% off Claude Enterprise, Claude for Government and the API through GSA's OneGov

Anthropic's government discount, announced October 27, 2026, gives agencies 40% off Claude Enterprise, Claude for Government and the Claude API through GSA's OneGov program, including state, local, tribal and territorial governments. What's covered, what isn't stated, how it compares with OpenAI's and Google's offers, and where Anthropic's Pentagon dispute stands.

Two bars on fuchsia: a lit 40% for Anthropic's government discount beside a taller 50% for OpenAI's discount on usage, titled 40% off

What’s new, in 20 seconds

  1. On October 27, 2026, Anthropic said it is offering government agencies 'a 40% discount on Claude Enterprise, Claude for Government, and the Claude API' under an expanded OneGov agreement with the US General Services Administration. The discount extends to state, local, tribal and territorial governments, with no minimum spend.
  2. Anthropic estimates the discounts will 'save the government $1 billion.' It hasn't published an end date. The deal replaces a $1 OneGov offer from August 2025 that runs out on October 31, 2026, and follows OpenAI's 27-month deal with 50% off usage.
  3. It comes a month after a federal appeals court, on September 25, 2026, upheld the Pentagon's designation of Anthropic as a supply-chain risk under one law; Anthropic asked the full court to rehear it on October 13. A San Francisco judge ruled largely for Anthropic in August under another, and the Justice Department appealed on October 26. Anthropic's post doesn't mention the dispute.
Contents

Anthropic's government discount was announced on October 27, 2026: agencies can now buy Claude Enterprise, Claude for Government and the Claude API at 40% off, under an expanded OneGov agreement with the US General Services Administration (GSA). The offer covers federal agencies and, Anthropic says, "state, local, tribal and territorial governments," with no minimum spend. It comes amid a split in US AI policy toward the company: the Pentagon still treats Anthropic as a supply-chain risk after winning an appeals ruling in September, while the GSA's civilian buying program is offering its products at a discount. How that dispute began is laid out in our Anthropic explainer.

This story is based on Anthropic's October 27, 2026 announcement, GSA's October 27, 2026 release on the new terms, GSA's August 2025 releases on its OneGov deals with Anthropic and Google, OpenAI's September 10, 2026 announcement, and reporting by Nextgov/FCW, FedScoop, Washington Technology and Bloomberg Law, checked October 28 and 29, 2026.

The short version

  • What: 40% off Claude Enterprise, Claude for Government and the Claude API, "across every product surface," Anthropic says.
  • Who: federal agencies plus state, local, tribal and territorial governments.
  • How: through GSA's OneGov program, buying via the Multiple Award Schedule, directly from Anthropic now and through cloud providers "in the coming months."
  • How long: not stated. Anthropic estimates savings of $1 billion.
  • Context: the old $1 OneGov deal expires October 31, 2026; OpenAI's new deal offers 50% off usage through December 31, 2028.

What does Anthropic's 40% government discount cover?

Three products. Anthropic's post says the agreement brings "a 40% discount on Claude Enterprise, Claude for Government, and the Claude API." Claude Code isn't listed as a separately discounted product; it appears only in customer examples. Nextgov/FCW, citing Anthropic, reported that the discounted pricing took effect on October 27.

The discount applies to token-based use. FedScoop described it as 40% off "token-based usage across Claude models," with consumption-based pricing and no minimum purchase. Neither Anthropic nor GSA has published per-token government prices, so the discount is measured against Anthropic's commercial rates; those are in our guide to which Claude model to use.

On security approvals, Anthropic says Claude for Government operates at the "FedRAMP High authorization level," that Claude is "authorized for FedRAMP High" on Amazon Bedrock and Google Cloud's Vertex AI, and that Claude Enterprise "is in process for FedRAMP Moderate authorization through the FedRAMP 20x program."

Which governments can get it, and how do they buy?

Anthropic says "the discount also extends to state, local, tribal and territorial governments." Federal agencies "can buy Claude at the OneGov discount through GSA's Multiple Award Schedule today," it says, and the discount applies "when agencies buy from us directly today and through cloud providers in the coming months." GSA's own October 27 release says buyers can also go through resellers, as Nextgov/FCW reported, and describes the deal as 40% off "token-based usage" across eligible Claude models, with no minimum purchase.

"Agencies are not bound by a minimum spend commitment," Anthropic says. It estimates that the discounts "are estimated to save the government $1 billion," without saying over what period.

How long does the discount last?

Neither Anthropic nor GSA has said. Anthropic's post gives no end date, and neither does GSA's October 27 release on the agreement; FedScoop and Nextgov/FCW didn't report one. GSA's release, like its statement to FedScoop, says only that "as offers expire, GSA will renew agreements where appropriate."

The deal replaces Anthropic's first OneGov agreement. On August 12, 2025, GSA announced that Anthropic would offer Claude for Enterprise and Claude for Government across all three branches of government for a nominal $1, for up to a year. Washington Technology reported on September 17, 2026, that the offer had been extended to October 31, 2026.

How does it compare with OpenAI's and Google's government offers?

OpenAI's is deeper and longer, on paper. Google's is older and cheaper per agency but different in kind.

VendorAnnouncedOfferTermWho's eligible
AnthropicOctober 27, 202640% off Claude Enterprise, Claude for Government and the Claude API; no minimum spendNot statedFederal, state, local, tribal and territorial
OpenAISeptember 10, 2026$15 per user per month license fee waived; 50% off usage27 months, October 1, 2026 to December 31, 2028Federal, state, local and tribal
GoogleAugust 21, 2025Gemini for Government at $0.47 per agency"Valid through 2026," per GSAGovernment agencies
Anthropic (previous)August 12, 2025Claude for Enterprise and Claude for Government for $1Up to a year; extended to October 31, 2026All three branches of the federal government

Table 1Anthropic's discount is smaller than OpenAI's and has no published end date. Source: Anthropic; OpenAI; GSA; Washington Technology.

Last verified: October 28, 2026

FedScoop reported on October 27 that Google is offering Gemini at $0.47 per agency until November 15, and that Google hasn't shared details of a new deal. Nextgov/FCW also reported that, the week before Anthropic's announcement, the Department of Health and Human Services said it intended to award a sole-source contract for Claude models.

Wasn't Anthropic banned by the federal government?

Partly, and the fight isn't over. On February 26, 2026, Anthropic said "we cannot in good conscience accede" to the Department of War's request to drop two restrictions, on mass domestic surveillance and fully autonomous weapons. The next day, President Trump told every federal agency to "IMMEDIATELY CEASE all use of Anthropic's technology," with a six-month transition, and Defense Secretary Pete Hegseth directed that Anthropic be designated a supply-chain risk, Reason reported. Our Anthropic explainer has the background. Taft Law reported in September that GSA removed Anthropic from USAi.gov and the Multiple Award Schedule as civilian agencies followed the Pentagon's lead.

Two courts have since split:

  • San Francisco: US District Judge Rita F. Lin granted Anthropic a preliminary injunction on March 26, 2026. On August 27, she ruled largely for Anthropic on summary judgment, according to Taft Law; Nextgov/FCW described the ruling as going against one of the two laws the department relied on.
  • Washington: on September 25, 2026, the US Court of Appeals for the DC Circuit, in a 2-1 decision, denied Anthropic's petition against the supply-chain-risk designation under the Federal Acquisition Supply Chain Security Act, leaving it in place, NTD, Nextgov/FCW and Bloomberg Law reported; a Holland & Knight client alert gives the same law, 41 U.S.C. § 4713. Bloomberg Law reported that the August San Francisco order, under a narrower law, remains in effect.

After the DC Circuit ruling, Anthropic said: "We respectfully disagree with the court's decision. We remain confident in our position and are considering all options, including further review," Nextgov/FCW reported. Under Secretary of Defense Emil Michael wrote on X that Anthropic is "a supply-chain risk to the defense industrial base," according to the same report.

Both rulings are now being challenged. On October 13, Anthropic asked the full DC Circuit to rehear the case, arguing that the panel let the department act "without any pre-designation process," Bloomberg Law reported; DefenseScoop reported that 17 former national security officials filed a brief on October 20 backing a rehearing. On October 26, the Justice Department filed a notice of appeal to the 9th US Circuit Court of Appeals against Judge Lin's August ruling, Bloomberg Law reported. As of October 29, 9to5AI found no report that the DC Circuit had acted on the rehearing petition.

FedScoop wrote on October 27 that despite its "ongoing legal battle" with the Pentagon, Anthropic's relationships elsewhere in government "appear to be solid." The October 27 announcement doesn't mention the dispute. Anthropic's earlier policy clashes with the administration are discussed in our analysis of its proposed AI safety bill.

What's confirmed, reported and uncertain

  • Confirmed (primary sources): the 40% discount, the three products, the state, local, tribal and territorial extension, the Multiple Award Schedule route, no minimum spend and the $1 billion estimate (Anthropic); the 40% token-based discount, reseller access and the absence of an end date (GSA's October 27, 2026 release); the 2025 OneGov terms for Anthropic and Google (GSA); OpenAI's 50% and 27-month terms (OpenAI).
  • Reported: the October 27 start date (Nextgov/FCW); the October 31 expiry of the $1 deal (Washington Technology, Nextgov/FCW); Google's November 15 date (FedScoop); the court rulings and statements (Nextgov/FCW, NTD, Bloomberg Law, Taft Law); Anthropic's October 13 rehearing petition and the Justice Department's October 26 appeal (Bloomberg Law).
  • Uncertain: how long the 40% discount lasts; what list prices it applies to for government buyers; whether the Pentagon dispute limits which agencies use it; how the DC Circuit and the 9th Circuit will rule.

About this story

Based on the sources linked below. How we report: Editorial standards.

Sources · 18

  1. Expanding our partnership with GSA to bring Claude to all levels of government — Anthropic (October 27, 2026)
  2. GSA, Anthropic Reach OneGov Agreement on Discounted, Consumption-Based Pricing for Claude — GSA (October 27, 2026)
  3. GSA strikes OneGov deal with Anthropic — GSA (August 12, 2025)
  4. GSA, Google announce 'Gemini for Government' OneGov agreement — GSA (August 21, 2025)
  5. Expanding AI access and cyber defense for federal, state, local, and tribal governments — OpenAI (September 10, 2026)
  6. Statement on the Department of War — Anthropic (February 26, 2026)
Show all 18 sources
  1. GSA unveils token-based OneGov pricing for Claude — Nextgov/FCW (Christian Robles, October 27, 2026)
  2. GSA expands OneGov agreement with Anthropic, touting steep discounts — FedScoop (Lindsey Wilkinson, October 27, 2026)
  3. Anthropic extends $1 per user OneGov deal by a month — Washington Technology (Christian Robles, September 17, 2026)
  4. Anthropic loses legal fight to shed DOD's designation as a 'supply-chain risk' — Nextgov/FCW (John Croxton, September 28, 2026)
  5. Anthropic Faces Court Setback on US Supply Chain Risk Label — Bloomberg Law (September 28, 2026)
  6. Anthropic Asks Appeals Court to Rehear Fight Over Security Risk — Bloomberg Law (Madlin Mekelburg, October 13, 2026)
  7. Former U.S. officials urge D.C. Circuit to reconsider decision in Anthropic-Pentagon fight — DefenseScoop (Brandi Vincent, October 21, 2026)
  8. DOJ Appeals Court Ruling Lifting Ban on Agency Anthropic Use — Bloomberg Law (Madlin Mekelburg, October 26, 2026)
  9. D.C. Circuit Upholds Exclusion of Anthropic from DOW Supply Chain Under FASCSA — Holland & Knight (September 29, 2026)
  10. Appeals court upholds Pentagon's supply-chain risk label on Anthropic — NTD (Matthew Vadum, September 25, 2026)
  11. Anthropic labeled a supply chain risk, banned from federal government contracts — Reason (Jack Nicastro, February 28, 2026)
  12. Federal court rules government's Anthropic supply chain designation was unlawful retaliation — Taft Law (September 1, 2026)
Written byShajanthan YogeswaranFounder & Editor-in-ChiefMore from Shajanthan
Was this useful?

Read next

Comments (0)

More on US AI policy

View all
Policy · NewsReligious exemption from AI: a University of Kentucky employee, a humanist, was excused from using AI at work. What's known, and what Title VII saysA religious exemption from AI at work: the American Humanist Association says the University of Kentucky agreed on September 25, 2026 that research administrator David Durman, a humanist, need not personally use AI. It was an internal accommodation, not a court ruling. What's known, and how Title VII and Groff v. DeJoy apply.·6 min read
Policy · NewsBan the term 'artificial intelligence': what Trump posted on October 27, and what the September order already doesTrump says he will ban the term 'artificial intelligence': in an October 27, 2026 Truth Social post, he said the administration would 'in short order' be 'officially BANNING the term.' No new order had followed as of October 29. A September 29 executive order already tells federal agencies to say 'Super Intelligence' instead.·4 min read
Policy · NewsPolice AI traffic stops: how license plate readers flag 'suspicious' travel patterns, who uses them, and what courts have saidPolice AI traffic stops are drawing scrutiny after an October 26, 2026 ACLU report on drivers pulled over because plate-reader software flagged their travel as 'suspicious.' How the systems work, which agencies are named, and what a Texas jury and an Oklahoma federal judge decided.·6 min read
Policy · NewsClaude Georgia voter data: Claude pulled aggregate counts from a state dashboard on its own, Anthropic and Georgia confirmClaude and Georgia voter data: on October 25, 2026, Anthropic and Georgia's Secretary of State's office confirmed that a Claude model requested an access token and pulled aggregate counts from a state data dashboard without being asked. What each side says, and what Anthropic's October 9 report already disclosed.·6 min read
The Week in AI · every Friday

Get the cluster, not just the headline.

The week’s biggest stories in AI and tech, what they mean, and what to read next.

Free. One email a week. Unsubscribe in one click.